About us


The Department of Computer Science at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras campus offers a Bachelor in Science degree in Computer Science. The Computer Science program was formally established in August of 1994, but it was not until December of 2002 that the department became an independent entity. The Master of Science (M.S.) with a Specialty in Computer Science began in August 2022. The Doctorate in Philosophy (Ph.D.) with a Specialty in Computer Science will begin in August 2024. Currently our department is composed of ten faculty members and serves about a hundred undergraduate students.

The Bachelor’s degree program in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org, the recognized accreditor of college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology. ABET accreditation demonstrates a program’s commitment to providing its students with a quality education.Accreditation is a voluntary, peer review process that requires programs to undergo comprehensive, periodic evaluations. The evaluations, conducted by teams of volunteer professionals working in industry, government, academe, and private practice within the ABET disciplines, focus on program curricula, faculty, facilities, institutional support, and other important areas.


The mission of our department and undergraduate programs is:

  • To prepare ethically and socially responsible professionals in Computer Science to succeed in local and international industries/organizations/government and academia.
  • To foster research and advanced studies in Computer Science, as well as in interdisciplinary computational research, and encourage students to pursue graduate studies.